Our Collingwood – a Q&A with former CAO Kim Wingrove

After last week’s interview with the E-B’s Ian Adams, I decided that I’d like to do more Q&A’s with other interesting people who live in, are originally from, or have contributed to “Our Collingwood”.

The first in my new series, is with the former CAO of Collingwood, Kim Wingrove.

Kim was the CAO of Collingwood from September of 2009, until April of 2012. Prior to that, her impressive background included several years of work for the Ontario Provincial Government.



  1. When and how, did you come to be the CAO of Collingwood?
In the spring of 2009, I was contacted by the executive search firm who had been retained by the town to undertake a national search for a new CAO as the incumbent had indicated his intent to retire. At that time I was Director, Regional Economic Development with the Province of Ontario. I had two extensive interviews with the firm and they spoke with at least 10 of my colleagues – bosses, peers, and staff.  This background information was provided to the town and the shortlisted candidates were invited to an interview and then later to make a presentation to all of Council. I was offered the position of CAO in June 2009 and officially started work in September.
  1. What were your first impressions of the town, and your new work place?
I thought that Collingwood was a beautiful place and that there was tremendous potential here.
  1. What was the biggest challenge when you first started the job?
Initially, I felt it was getting to know the 5 Ws (who, what, where, why and when) of the many projects that were ongoing and the relationships between people in the community.
.
  1. How did you find the transition when the new council took office in 2010.?
It was a challenge for me personally, as I was quite ill and spent most of December of 2010 in the hospital. I tried to hit the ground running, as there were new faces around the table to get to know and new directions to move forward with.
  1. Looking back, what was you biggest challenge, during your employ with the town?
I believe that openness, transparency and trust between the members of any organization are critical to the health and success of that organization. It was really important to me to try to foster that kind of environment at town hall.
  1. Do you still follow the news from Collingwood?

    From a distance, yes.

  1. When you saw the CBC story in March, about allegations of corruption, what, if anything surprised you?
I wasn’t surprised so much as saddened. In a democratic society, the public has a right (some would say a duty) to question and understand the decisions of those elected to represent them. I think people get uneasy when they don’t feel they have sufficient information to understand why certain decisions are taken and make their minds up about whether the public interest is being served. Only the public can decide how much information is enough. As public servants we must continually communicate to the best of our ability. There are many good, hardworking staff at town hall and I am sure this situation makes their job more difficult.
  1. What did you think of the choice of Ed Houghton, to replace you as “acting” CAO of Collingwood?
The role of CAO is to be liaison between Council and staff and to implement the direction and decisions that Council makes. Council chooses a CAO that they trust to perform this function.
  1. Do you have any regrets?
There were many projects that I would have liked to see through to completion. 
  1. What is your current job?

    Director, Economic Development, Communications and Information Technology for the Town of New Tecumseth.

  1. Under certain circumstances, would you be open to coming back as the CAO of Collingwood?
At this stage in my life, I remain most interested in public service and making a positive, lasting difference. I will always be open to opportunities to do this effectively.
Any closing comments to residents of Collingwood?
Thank you for welcoming me to your community and for the support you provided to me while I was CAO. I appreciated and was amazed at the tremendous commitment and passion that so many citizens put voluntarily into community projects. I believe that this engagement is a great strength and key to Collingwood’s future. 

Many thanks to Kim, for sharing her thoughts with us.

I hope that you enjoy this Q&A format. I have approached many others about doing this with me, and I hope to have more to publish in the near future.

Cheers

Steve

Follow me on Twitter

Check out my Blog

Friend me on Facebook

Join my “Enough is Enough” Facebook page
Now on Linkedin