The Scoop on "Scoop" – My Interview with the E-B’s Ian Adams

Morgan Ian Adams, (Scoop), was once an award-winning reporter and is now managing editor with the Collingwood Enterprise-Bulletin.  He has covered a variety of news stories in the Collingwood area for more than 20 years, including politics, sports, and breaking news.

Ian has been kind enough, to answer some questions for me, on a number of topics. Here is our interview.

  1. Give us a brief summary of your family, and what brought you to Collingwood.
Well, Janet and I have been married for 21 years (in early May), and we have two boys… well, young men, actually. Geez, that makes me feel old…
Anyhoo, I arrived in Collingwood in the summer of 1990, fresh out of college, to take on the job as the inaugural editor of the Connection. There weren’t many jobs in journalism at the time, thanks to the economy, so it ended up I was one of only a couple of people in my class to actually score a gig in the field.
  1. What led you to become a journalist?
I always enjoyed writing, and even as a little kid, I would do these pseudo-newspapers about what was happening around the house (my mother never forgave me for the expose on what she actually put into the rice pudding – kidding!).
  1. Who have been your influences as a writer, and your mentors as a journalist?
Hmmm… I always enjoyed Hemmingway, Michener, Douglas Adams, Waugh, Tolkien. One of my biggest mentors in journalism would have been my reporting teacher in college. I also looked up to some of the biggest names in Canadian journalism at the time as influences: Knowlton Nash, Barbara Frum, Pierre Berton, Alan Fotheringham. 
  1. How did you get the name “Scoop”.
Actually, the folks at the canoe club gave me that one – I think it might have been Leslie Kamps. It’s also the title of a book by Evelyn Waugh. On at least a couple of occasions, I’ve lived up to it, too!
  1. You have written a book, “Glory: A Lamentable Condition of Affairs.” What led you to write this story?
The story originated with a column in the E-B written by the former museum curator, Anita Myles. I thought it was such a fascinating tale that I thought I should explore more in-depth. It took me two years to get off my butt to start to do the actual research and writing, and then it took me three months to do it. I didn’t expect to make any money (I think I broke even) – it was about getting out an important story in Collingwood’s history.
  1. You are known as being and avid rower. What started this interest, and what is your regiment?
Me, row? Never! I paddle… paddlers see where they’re going, and rowers see where they’ve been.
I got interested in 2001, when the Rotary Club started the local dragon boat festival, and enjoyed it so much that when the canoe club started in 2004 I joined up right away. It’s a great group of individuals, and the harbour is a tremendous asset that I don’t believe we should waste by loading up with docks for powerboats. We need to find a way to balance the needs of all users, because it’s one of those things we have only one chance to get right.
As to my regimen, it’s been a little slow getting out on the water this year – I think I’ve only been out about four times, while this time last year I was paddling a couple of times a week. I’ve also tried to hit the gym three times a week, though this winter and spring has been tough as I’ve been sick about three times.
  1. Describe your responsibilities with the Enterprise Bulletin, and how they have changed regarding the elimination of 2 editions a week, the Internet, advertising ect.
I think I have one of the more misunderstood jobs in Collingwood. Hollywood does no favours for newspapers, that’s for sure, and what people see on the big screen bears very little resemblance to what I have to deal with on a daily or weekly basis.
I got thinking about it in the last week; for example, in the last four weeks, I’ve written about 30 stories. Each story takes, on average, about four hours – between interviewing and researching, to the writing, to the editing, and taking and processing the photos (tho’ these days, that’s done in PhotoShop).
Based on my rough calculation, there’s about 18,000-to-20,000 words in those 30 stories. As an aside, I calculated it out once, and in my 15 years at the paper, and with the blog, I’ve churned out more than 1.3 million words – War and Peace is just under 600,000…
Then there’s page layout, editing my writer’s work, story development, answering the phone, answering emails, updating the website… when I figured it out, over the last four weeks, I’ve worked an extra week.
The one thing about eliminating the mid-week edition is that I can actually think about taking time off, sort-of…
However, with the Internet, it makes us just about a daily operation, and we’re posting about two, three, or four stories a day, depending on what’s happening.
I always try to emphasize this – 20 years ago, there were eight people in the newsroom at the E-B. Ten years ago, there were four. Today, there are two – yet the expectations of the community on the newspaper over those 20 years have not diminished.
I don’t think most people understand the demands of the job. I had a woman call me up, demanding that I devote my front page to coverage of the First Nations’ protests that happened a few months back. I told her that for one thing, the closest protest was about an hour-and-a-half away, and for another, we had a number of stories of real local interest on the front page. When I rhymed off what a couple were, she said she’d already read those stories online (on our website); I guess she expected me to turn around (on a deadline day, at that) and write a whole bunch of new stories for the paper edition.
People are also under the impression that the job is to be a constant critic of the powers that be, which is not realistic, nor appropriate. Our job is to report on what’s happening in the community, in as balanced a way as possible.
As to advertising, I don’t go anywhere near it…

  1. Comedians used to say that George W. Bush, was the best thing that happened to comedy. Over the years, which local politician has been your G.W. and why?
Easy, Helena Guergis… tho’ in the end, I feel bad for her, and think she got the royal you-know-what. However, as the Conservative MP and a member of cabinet, she provided an endless stream of enjoyment, whether it was the 10 percenters, or the letters to editors written by staff.
  1. In your years with the E-B, have you ever been asked to write, or axe a story, by a local politician, for his or her own political agenda? If so, how did you handle it?
Nope, and if I had, I would have had two words for the individual. Plus, I’ve been fortunate to have a couple of good publishers who would back me if that situation ever came up.

  1. Collingwood has two papers and the local radio stations. Describe your working relationship with other members of the local media?
The local media types get along pretty well, but there’s still a level of competition there to break stories.
  1. What caused you to stop writing on the “East End Underground”, and why the sudden return?
I know ‘Nobody’ wanted to find a conspiracy in why I wasn’t blogging anymore, and what he posted (since deleted) just reinforced my decision. Quite frankly, I felt as though I’d been bullied off the net – rather than express a counterpoint to what I was writing, my words would be taken out of context by both you and Nobody; in Nobody’s case, he also attributed words to me that I hadn’t written, and engaged in ad hominem attacks and some rather fallacious reasoning about my integrity – and I proved it. In the end, the best he seemed to come up with is I hadn’t returned his call on an issue I don’t even remember from 12 years ago.
You and I had what I thought was an open and honest (and possibly off-the-record) conversation at the Espresso Post, and I was shocked to have you turn around and post the conversation on your blog – and misinterpret my words.
Needless to say, having to turn around every couple of days to try and defend myself was frustrating, and mentally and emotionally exhausting – and I have enough stress in my life. At the moment, I’m just dipping my toe into the blogging waters. I haven’t fully decided whether to jump back in. 
  1. Several local bloggers, including myself, have popped up over the last several months. What is your opinion on the local blogasphere, and what advise would you give to those of us who are blogging?
I believe ‘citizens journalists’ have their place in a community, just as I was a ‘citizen journalist’ for a time. Personally, as long as they’re playing by the ‘rules’ (as in, not engaging in ad hominem attacks, or spreading misinformation), then I think blogs are a excellent opportunity to generate discussion about issues in the community, regardless of whether the owner is open about who they are (like you or I, or Mariane), semi-anonymous (like ‘Nobody’), or completely anonymous (like Hamilton Drain or Calling Wood). There’s nothing wrong with opinion, as long as it’s based on factual information.
As to advice, I might fall back on what an American journalist said a couple of weeks ago while reflecting on the editorial mistakes of the press on events such as the Boston bombing and Sandy Hook, commented that in these days of social media, everyone is a publisher, but not enough are editors. I don’t mean that from a perspective of editing for grammar and spelling, but also separating the wheat from the chaff in presenting information, and applying critical thinking to what one is told or uncovers. I’ve been reading quite a bit about the need for more media literacy in the last few weeks…
If I was writing a story (like a news story) for my blog, I applied the same principles to the process I do in writing a news story for the E-B: documentation, verification, interviews.
That said, you guys can do things I just can’t justify with the resources and space I have, like paying the amount of attention you do to the ongoing construction of the tents – and, I think in that respect, you’re doing a very good job.
Like the newspapers, the local bloggers have an opportunity to advance important issues of public interest, and have significant influence. I would hope you guys would use your power for good, rather than with cheesy negative attacks on others.
  1. You were an early member of V.O.T.E. Describe the experience?
I think VOTE started out with the best of intentions, and the group raised some very relevant issues, whether it were the process for purchasing the Palace Livery/Tremont properties, or the issue of Admiral Collingwood being six stories. Where I departed from the group was their refusal to put their names on an ad that was published in the Connection at the time. 
That’s the one thing I’ve encouraged people I know who are involved with Better Together Collingwood – don’t be afraid to let people know who you are and where you stand. If members of a citizen’s group are prepared to voice their opinion, publicly, and the argument is a valid one, then the newspaper will be the first one to defend their right to say it. I will not tolerate bullying, and I will call out anyone whom I find out is engaged in that behaviour…
Anyhoo, VOTE started out with the best of intentions, I felt, just as it also seemed to turn into an organization that seemed to focus on the personalities at the council table, rather than the policies and issues being discussed. Issues that arose with the previous council that would have drawn their ire during Mayor Geddes’ time seemed to get a pass.
I don’t expect a citizens’ group to be all-angst, all the time, but to provide a sober counterpoint to council decision-making, regardless of who sits at the table. You just have to look to the west of us, the citizens’ group in The Blue Mountains, for an excellent example of a group that does a very good job at raising issues and engaging residents in the public process. I think that’s where the success of Better Together Collingwood could lie.
  1. It has been suggested, that there is a voting block on town Council, even referred to as the “Fab Five”. What is your opinion on this?
There was a fab five voting bloc during the previous council, and I think a voting bloc on the council before that. Every council brings with it a certain voting dynamics, which usually gets determined based on whom the electorate puts into office. But yes, there is certainly the appearance of a voting bloc on this council. 
  1. What are you opinions on the CBC story that came out in March?
It always makes me leery of stories that have a basis in using unnamed sources. If one is using unnamed sources, the reporter, editor, and the lawyer – if necessary – need assurances that the request to speak on condition of anonymity meets the guidelines, and that you’re just not protecting the identity of individuals who may have an axe to grind.
I can only think of a couple of instances where I’ve used unnamed individuals – or pseudonyms – and in both cases it was a situation of domestic abuse. I’ve heard of who one of the unnamed sources in the CBC story may have been, and if it’s true, then the CBC didn’t do a very good job in vetting that individual’s background. 
I found it interesting that whomever filed the complaint with the OPP, or those who knew about the complaint, would choose to go to the CBC and not the local media – and I’m not just talking about me, but the Connection, or the radio stations. Personally, if I’d been approached with the info about an OPP investigation, I would have written about it… but I would also have vetted the backgrounds of the individuals making those allegations. If the need to be anonymous was genuine, it would have been a request I would have granted.
  1. While I can’t reveal their names, I know of 6 people that have been interviewed by the OPP in their current investigation. Do you believe, that at the end of the investigation, any charges will be laid?
I guess that depends on what the OPP finds out, doesn’t it? If the basis of the investigation on the conflict of interest allegations are strictly about whether the mayor and the D-M should declare a conflict because of their respective relationships with Paul Bonwick, I’m not sure there’s a case because of what’s stated in the Municipal Conflict of Interest Act. If there’s more to it than that, then that’s a different kettle of fish.
As to the investigation regarding the allegations about the sale of the grain terminal… well, that’s something entirely different.
I guess like everyone else, I’m anxiously awaiting the conclusion to this story.
  1. Have you considered running for Collingwood Council in 2014? Explain.
Nope – job won’t allow it.

  1. You have written some wonderful stories on policy change, including a piece on hiring an Integrity Commissioner. Why do you think this current council is so opposed to these types of change?
Are they opposed to an integrity commissioner? I don’t know that they’re opposed to the idea of an IC, just how it was presented by Councillor Gardhouse. Joe should perhaps have introduced it prior to budget discussions, so it could be included in that debate. Personally, I don’t think it would cost that much (obviously, dependent on how many complaints are filed), and I get the sense the majority would be in favour. 
  1. You have continued to show your passion for our harbour front. What would be your “perfect” scenario for that area?
As noted above, I’d like a scenario that balances the needs of all user groups, not just the powerboaters and yacht club. The previous plan from a couple of years ago pushed the other user groups (paddlers, rowers) to the fringe of the harbour, where it was not appropriate for a variety of reasons. I think the present harbourlands planning process, under Rob Voigt, offers a lot of opportunity to develop a true multi-use facility.
  1. Why brandied plum muffins?
The allegations of a grainy cellphone video of me huffing a brown bag containing a warm brandied plum muffin are ridiculous…
I don’t remember when I had my first brandied-plum muffin, other than it was something Christene Krause at Espresso Post introduced at the shop, and encouraged me to give it a try. Best to get them fresh, still steamy and moist and soft, and… uh, where was I?

 I’d like to thank Scoop for doing this interview. I hope it will not be our last. Regardless of our differing views in the past, Ian remains my biggest influence in the brief year that I have been blogging. I hope he continues with his blog, as his experience and insights with the town, are much needed.
Cheers
Steve
Follow me on Twitter

Friend me on Facebook

Join my “Enough is Enough” Facebook page
Now on Linkedin